I saw Miranda July’s new film The Future last night. It was great.  The cat was great, the t-shirt was great, and the conversation about the chain and the sex that came after it made me so unhappy and deeply uncomfortable that I’m pretty sure that means it was great too.

One of my favorite things about it is the appearance and use of fantastical elements in an otherwise “normal” world. That’s pretty easy to do in fiction, but not so much in film.

She spoke afterwards and was totally nice and funny and interesting. People always talk about how awkward she is, but I didn’t think she was too bad, but maybe that’s because I’ve seen a lot of writers speak and awkward ‘s just clearly part of the deal. During the talk she admitted that actors find her hard to work with because she’s so controlling and anxious. That admission made me like her more.

