Posts will continue to be spotty around here, I think, as I’m dealing with some family issues.  This have taken me away from my writing, and this has actually achieved something positive – I want to write!  Let’s see what happens when I get that time, which should happen shortly.

Today I found the Guardian’s Rules for Writers series.  I didn’t expect to get too much out of it, and I didn’t.  This kind of stuff comes around way too often, and it’s always redundant.  However, British novelist Sarah Waters used the phrase “bowel-curdling terror,” in her piece, and that delighted me.  She used it to describe the panic she experiences when she’s halfway through a novel and decides it’s shit.

Zadie Smith delighted me when she said this:

Don’t romanticise [sic] -your “vocation”. You can either write good sentences or you can’t. There is no “writer’s lifestyle”. All that matters is what you leave on the page.

