Penguin UK hosted as student design competition for the cover of Donna Tartt’s A Secret History. The winning design, below, does not become the cover.  The winner receives one thousand pounds and a six week work placement (internship?) with the heads of the Penguin art department.

I like the winning design a lot, which probably isn’t a surprise given the book covers I’ve help up as models.  Bold graphics with a gradation?  I’m in.

peteradlington

The winner, Peter Adlington, had this to say about his design:

“For this piece I wanted to look at the hierarchy within the group, as well as their merging whilst in a catatonic state . . . I kept this abstract, with the use of one shape descending and merging to form a black void in the middle, which represents the impending doom that the group faced from the moment they committed the first murder.”

You can see the other contenders and learn more about the contest here.

