Did you know that Edith Wharton (Edith Newbold Jones) was nicknamed “Pussy Jones” as a child?  She was.  And why she ever wanted to be called something else is beyond me.

In other literary nickname news,  The New Yorker’s Nora Roberts profile – which made me really respect and envy her – mentions that Roberts’ friends call her NFR, as in Nora Fucking Roberts.

If there was a fight between Pussy Jones and Nora Fucking Roberts, who would win?  I’m not talking about some high-minded literary fight where it’s the quality of writing matched up. I mean one ring, two ladies in sexy outfits and Henry James holding the round cards.

I think it would be pretty close. Pussy Jones would clearly have an amazing outfit and I’m pretty sure this demure woman could reach down and pull out Miss Pussy Jones whenever she needed (think Beyonce/Sasha Fierce).  But Nora Roberts is clearly Nora Fucking Roberts all the time, and that could be dangerous for PJ.  Look at her. (Not for too long, she’ll cut you).

edith-wharton

VS

NoraRoberts

