I am probably coming off as huge Slumdog fan but I swear I’m not.  I did like a lot of it, but I also found a lot of things problematic . For example, I don’t mind an impossible love story, but I do mind  when the impossibility lies in the fact that the two people who are supposed to be together aren’t particularly lovable.  Jamal is attractive because he is obsessed, I mean devoted, to Latika, but he doesn’t have much of a personality, or at least he lacks the ability to show emotion with his face.  And Latika was such a passive character that I wasn’t sure that she was loved beyond the fact that she was a victim. And then her not knowing the answer to the Three Musketeers question and laughing about it really annoyed me.  But of course none of this matters because it’s a fable.

Try telling that to Salman Rushdie.  At a talk in Atlanta he told the audience that Slumdog “piles impossibility on impossibility.”  I know that is a very vague statement and I would love more information, but I don’t have it.  Blame the AP.  I’m guessing that Salman is disccussing how difficult it is for someone born into poverty amidst religious and politcal strife to triumph.  Or maybe he’s just talking about how hard that is it win that game when you don’t really know anything about anything.  But of all people, Mr. Midnight’s Children should be able to give a little leeway with the “possibility” of what occurs.   Come on.  Impossible is nothing.  Or something.

